Show/hide picture

Architecture

The Church is first mentioned in 1287, when the advowson passed from Mortimer of Richard's Castle to Mortimer of Wigmore. So, the Church of All Saints dates in foundation back to at least the 13th century, but nothing of that first building remains.

The present Church is an almost unaltered example of 14th century work, consisting of nave, chancel, transepts and low central tower crowned by a spire, a very picturesque whole, especially when seen in spring, rising above the cherry blossom of the orchards.

The Commissioners of Edward VI in 1553 put on record that Richard Luce, and the churchwardens Rychard Foxe and Gilbert Awyre reported that there remained to the Church "iij bellys, one chalys of sylver wt. the paten therto belongynge." One of these bells still hangs in the belfry. It bears the words : “Sit nomen Domini benedictum", and is of 14th century date.

The second bell is dated 1590, and is inscribed: "Sancta Trinitas, Unus Deus, miserere nostri." The third, which has on it : "Soli Deo gloria, pax hominibus," bears the date 1649. The small bell that now hangs with the three has no inscription, and is not so old.

There was formerly a coat of arms in the east window of the Church, placed there in 1628, by Joyce Jeffreys, in memory of Humphrey Coningsby. The stained glass of the present window was given by Miss E. A. Cook, who gave also the organ and other benefactions to the parish and Church.

back to to parish page